Forum home Problem solving

newbie wildlife pond question!

susiebowersusiebower Teignmouth, DevonPosts: 46
Hello - I'm a newbie gardener and recently had a wildlife pond put in. It's lovely, but several times the aquatic plants have come loose and had to be re-anchored. This has caused silt/sludge/soil from their baskets to cover the bottom of the pond, which looks pretty grungy. Anything I can do about this? (I have tadpoles, by the way, so don't want to endanger them).

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 46,270
    How have they come loose? If planted correctly, and with a layer of gravel on top, that shouldn't happen.  :)
    I wouldn't worry too much about some soil getting onto the base, that will happen over time anyway. A build up of debris in the bottom of a pond is normal - and often necessary as it means plants can seed into it   :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• susiebowersusiebower Teignmouth, DevonPosts: 46
    Ah, thank you, Fairygirl (you have been a real fairy godmother in terms of advice, so thanks!). The aquatic plants were planted properly by my eco-gardener but came loose and he's away. He'd wrapped them in some kind of cloth, but I've now put the marsh marigold into an aquatic basket just to stop the soil going everywhere. Will try and wedge it in. I guess I had a (probably daft) idea that the 'beachy' bit of the pond would have lovely pebbles in the bottom and look beautiful - when actually it just looks sludgy and silty! Will learn! :) 
    It's just one of those things @susiebower. You're right, we all want the beached bits to look perfect, and unfortunately, they rarely are, especially after umpteen birds have been in for a bath! It usually settles after some time though.  :)