Forum home Problem solving

Soil Too Rich?

Hello all,

I'm wondering if anyone can confirm my suspicions. 
I have planting bed put in about two years back (south-ish facing). I'm quite new to proper gardening so when filling I just mixed 50/50 ratio of compost to topsoil.

I put in a purple wisteria, camilia (both flowering on purchase) and rambling rose (bare root).
I'm getting decent growth on all, especially the rose during growing season, but none will flower. Is my soil too rich perhaps?

NB I also have auto irrigation set up to keep things just moist enough consistently.

• FireFire LondonPosts: 14,192
    edited 28 April
    Welcome. What are you planting into? Is it an open garden bed, a raised bed, a planter with a sealed bottom? What were you 'filling'? And how deep is it?

I doubt that the problem will be "rich soil". Camellias like slightly acid soil, so you might want to plant them separately into ericaceous soil. All the plants you have mentioned will be best in open garden beds and they can get to be big plants that like a deep root run.
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 46,463
    Camellias prefer a moist, cool site, with some shade, and drainage, so it might be too hot and dry for it.
    They need lots of water in late summer/early autumn as that's when the new buds form. If it's otherwise healthy, that's the most common  reason for no flowers. If it's only been in that length of time, it will have been getting established the first year anyway, before getting going properly. Rich soil isn't necessarily a problem for them, they just need neutral to acidic soil, and the aforementioned factors.
    As for the others, a bare root climber of any kind will also take a while to establish, as the roots are formed first before the flowering gets going properly, and wisteria can take years to flower.