Forum home Problem solving

Poorly rhododendron???

We purchased this rhododendron last spring and planted it in the ground. It was fabulous as can be seen in the photo. I am new to gardening but did all my research and thought I did everything right. Kept it watered during the summer, mulched with plenty of ericacious compost etc. this year the buds have appeared long and thin instead of short and fat! They have started to open but there does not seem to be any flowers inside! Again see pics. Please can anyone advise why this has happened and what I should do next?
Many Thanks. 

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 31,564
    not uncommon for new plants to put out lots of roots to " settle in " give it a high potash feed ( like tomato feed ) in Autumn which helps
    Devon.
  • punkdocpunkdoc Sheffield, Derbyshire border.Posts: 11,174
    Those look like leaf buds.
    He calls her the chocolate girl
    Cause he thinks she melts when he touches her
    She knows she's the chocolate girl
    Cause she's broken up and swallowed
    And wrapped in bits of silver
  • Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 8,490
    edited 21 April
    The flower buds start to form in the summer but don't open until the following spring.
    A lack of water during the summer can cause the plant not to flower the following year as it's stressed so may not form flower buds, or it may form flower buds that turn brown and then drop off.
    Your plant looks very healthy and new leaves are forming at the top so it may well be as said above that your plant is concentrating on growing a good root system.
    In the summer you should be able to spot next years flower buds forming - that's when it need water most to form flowers.

Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • UffUff SW Scotland but born in DerbyshirePosts: 1,698