Forum home Problem solving

Sowing seeds in trays

I spent a few hours the other day sowing seeds in trays, which will need to be kept inside as I haven’t got a greenhouse, though I have a cold frame. I am a novice gardener so learning along the way, however I think I have overwatered them. I did what Monty said to do which was to put them in a sink to take the water from underneath, but the soil is now soaking. 

Shall I start again or will the trays dry out. Would it be okay to put them in my cold frame? 

Thanks.

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 46,146
    What did you use to sow the seeds in?
    Most seeds do best with a nice gritty mix, so that they don't get waterlogged so easily, and that's best all the way through when potting on, until they're in their final pots. It's very easy for tiny seeds and seedlings to rot if they're kept too wet long term. 
    As long as you don't continue to water them while they're still wet, they should dry out if they're on a sunny-ish windowsill.  :)
    Some plants will cope better than others with wetter conditions, so it also depends on what you're sowing. 
    Whether you can put them in your cold frame will also depend on what they are  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• CrazybeeladyCrazybeelady WarwickshirePosts: 395
    I wouldn't worry too much about the wet soil, it'll probably be ok, just don't water for a bit.  What type of seeds are they?  Will probably depend on the hardiness of the plant as to whether they'll germinate in the coldframe - I would personally keep on a window sill.
  • DaisypicDaisypic Posts: 51
    I planted Cosmos, Zinnia Rudbeckia. Just noticed the Cosmos has already started to sprout, I only planted them the day before yesterday! Thanks all for your reassurance, think I will leave them be and hope they all grow!🤞🤞🤞