Forum home Garden design

Absolute novice needing advice for 2 areas please 😊

I have fully caught the gardening bug! However I am a complete beginner but really want to sort both my front garden and an area of my back garden out. 

Hopefully the pics have attached. We don’t have much of a front garden but I would really like to move the cordylines to the back and have some lovely colours at the front, just make it generally a lot prettier and not as ‘hard’ looking. What plants/flowers should I look out for?

At the back we had a patio put down last year and a pergola and as the garden goes slightly downwards we tried to do something with the far corner but it didn’t go to plan so we now have the area pictured above. I’ve bought a cherry blossom tree and jasmine and am hoping to transform it to be honest. My partner hates even looking at it because it didn’t go as planned. So I guess I just wonder what would u do? I’m hoping plants/flowers can really change the look of it but I’m also not sure where to begin. I’m not bothered about having furniture in it or the gravel I just want it to look as lovely as it can.Thankyou for reading all this!

• AnniDAnniD South West UKPosts: 10,992
    Hello Lucy  :)
    First of all, are the front and back gardens sunny or shady ? 
  • LuceeLucee Posts: 18
     AnniD said:
    Hello Lucy  :)
    First of all, are the front and back gardens sunny or shady ? 
    The back is south west facing and sunny for the majority of the day, the front is shaded after lunch time 😊
  • JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 7,658
    For the front I think you need something of a reasonable size and quite tough because you don't have a fence between your garden and the footpath. Small delicate things will probably get walked on by passers by and their dogs. Maybe roses? Perhaps interplanted with something like hardy geraniums, and spring bulbs (daffodils, crocuses etc) for early colour.
    JennyJ said: