Forum home Problem solving

Replacing old soil in borders

Hi everyone.

I've lived in this current house for a couple of years and the soil is really, really bad. It's very heavy clay, which waterlogs in the winter and cracks and sets like concrete in the summer. It is nutrient deficient, even bulbs come out tiny and stunted and look pathetic.

I've tried numerous ways of fixing this with mixed results, but I've decided the best course of action will be to get rid of all the existing soil in the border to the depth of around a foot.

I was thinking of bulk-buying some well rotten manure, topsoil and sand and sort of mixing it all together in a wheelbarrow and starting completely from fresh.

Does this sound like a good idea? I'm trying to stay away from just adding and adding and adding more material as I've been doing that for two years and it's not getting into the clay below and I'd like at least a couple of beds I'll be able to grow something in this year.

If anyone has any other suggestions or ideas to make my life easier, I'm all ears!

• LoxleyLoxley Posts: 4,453
    Before we start, what have you done so far that hasn't succeeded?
  • archerm1archerm1 Posts: 13
    I've tried digging in leaf litter and manure, with added sand. I had to take out the clay in chunks and smash it all up, mix it together and put it back in.

I had some success but the depth of workable soil was quite shallow and it was back-breaking. Even in the one border where this worked, there are still errant lumps of clay I've missed. Garden is quite big (for me) so it would take years to get the whole thing workable using that method alone
  • ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 27,600
    Clay soil is usually fertile - full of minerals - but sometimes so solid many plants can't get them and, as you say, water-logged in winter then bakes like bricks in summer.