Forum home Garden design

Building a new walled garden

My wife and I are moving to Northumberland where we plan to renovate a house that comes with a good plot of land. Whilst I am pretty new to gardening I used to live in a coach house growing up that was attached to a walled garden and I have always coveted one. I now find myself in a position where building one is a real possibility but I can find little/no literature about building one from scratch. My questions are therefore quite fundamental and I was hoping I could use the wisdom of the crowd to guide me!

1) Wind turbulence. The primary motivation for a walled garden would be for growing food and to provide shelter/warmth against the Northumberland climate. I am concerned though that solid walls will create turbulence on the leeward side that will render those benefits useless. Is there a height the walls need to be to prevent this?

2) Alternatives. Would planting thick hedging (beech for instance) provide a better wind barrier for growing and does this provide any heat benefit at all? 

3) Size. Without professional assistance what kind of size walled garden is it reasonable to expect 2 people (with small children!) can maintain to any standard?

4) Layout. The site in question would allow the back, long wall, to be south facing but the wind comes from the west so will this create a wind alley if built in this rectangular orienation?

5) Materials. Are there any differenet/more modern alternatives to brick that might make for an interesting design?

6) Viability. Is this really just folly? I think it is affordable (purely looking at the cost of wall building online and the price of a greenhouse) but will the impact on growing conditions/look&feel be all that great compared to building high hedges?

Sorry for such a long post and thank you so much in advance anyone who can shed any light!

• Lizzie27Lizzie27 SomersetPosts: 10,487