Forum home Garden design

Starting from scratch in an east facing garden - complete novice

Hi everyone, I know this is the vaguest request but I would appreciate any advice or tips people can offer.

Last autumn we moved into a 50s house with a neglected garden, the previous owner had tried something quite modern and not practical for us with two boys who like football / tennis / generally being active. We need to get someone in to finish the patio to the side of the house and I’d like to get them to lay some more patio on the left, ie where the best of the sun is in the morning by the house and (where the rabbit cage is now) in the evening.

We definitely want to get rid of the decking and keep the old apple tree. And I don’t love the path right through the middle (well just of centre)…

The garden slopes away quite steeply on the right where the shed is, I’m not sure whether keeping the slope so the shed is hidden is good or will be a pain? I’ve promised the boys a trampoline as they’ve always wanted one so def need lawn.

I know I’d like some height on the left for privacy but would plants or pergola be best? I’d like curves rather than modern, maybe somewhere to grow some veg and the soil is pretty heavy clay. My preference is more towards cottage garden / good for wildlife rather than super neat and tidy. I dug out some ragwort today and the ground was full of worms so I think that’s a good sign isn’t it? 

What would anyone recommend? I have no eye for design or creativity and the husband is desperate to get the patio laid so I can’t live with it for a year.

Thanks for any advice or tips.

• Harriet-Harriet- Posts: 13

• FireFire North LondonPosts: 17,116