Forum home Problem solving

Product design project for gardening transport

edited 7 March in Problem solving
Hi, I'm a Product Design Student I have a project based for around the age of 65 and over, but ages below that can also respond as everyone has unique experiences.
The product is based around transportation of gardening supplies, tools etc while gardening. 

I'm looking for peoples experiences as ideas for the product. Responses can have:

- What you do in the garden (Like everyday tasks) 
- What's tools and equipment you use often in the garden 
- What challenges you face while gardening (e.g lifting, moving items, bending etc) 

(I'll be using some of these responses in my project, so if you don't want your response to be shared I wouldn't recommend responding to this.) Thanks! 

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 46,035
    It's a bit vague. You risk people either not responding at all, or writing an essay....
    Better to ask specific questions.  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• B3B3 Posts: 21,411
    A flat bed trolley that could extend upwards or tip forwards might be useful
    In London. Keen but lazy.
  • JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 6,039
    I use a bucket or small trug to carry my hand tools around and a larger one to carry compost etc to where I need it, or to collect and carry away weeds and prunings. My garden is small with minimal paths to maximise growing space, so there isn't room to use a barrow or trolley or anything like that to get to where I want to work without trashing the plants.
    If I had a big garden and a big enough shed to keep it in, I'd probably just get a standard wheelbarrow and maybe a standard sack barrow. I've seen a trug-bucket-on-wheels type of thing but I don't think it'd be any better than a barrow.

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 31,564
    I'm only 59, so my opinions don't count
    Devon.
  • Hostafan1 said:
    I'm only 59, so my opinions don't count