Forum home Garden design

How to design a woodland garden?

I'm a novice gardener, just moved into a new home with a small garden and quarter acre patch of woodland. I'd like to extend the garden out into the woodland and make the whole area more accessible, enjoyable and kid friendly.

I've been reading the prevalent gardening advice about sit down and get to know the space, test the soil, etc. but then I get stuck. Picking a theme, colours, matching the house, etc. It's a woodland, I don't want it to match my modern house. I'd also like it to keep the theme of 'woodland'.

It's got a small pond and wood shed at the top. It's north facing in the north of England. It leads away from the house in a long rectangle down a slight slope to a larger pond and stream at the bottom.

We've got 5 trees down with the storms, so we need to make some decisions.

I'd really like to shape a pathway though the space, create some things for the kids, space to sit, and some wildlife habitats.

Where do I go for information on woodland gardening? Are there any:
- Good books
- Woodland gardens in the north I should visit
- Websites for woodland gardening
- Good woodland garden design software 

I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed really and the books I have don't really cover what I need.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 49,111
    If you have some photos of the site, that will help with advice. 
    It might seem daunting, but it's also a great chance to do something you can enjoy for years to come.  :)
    Books, the internet and any gardening programmes you can find to watch are good, but it can be information overload. 
    My advice would be to keep it simple. Start with any hard landscaping, just as you would with a standard garden. The only difference is that a woodland garden's 'hard landscaping' mainly comes  from the planting. Trees and shrubs.  :)