Forum home Garden design

Level Garden with Hard Core

Hi,

I’m completely new to gardening but have recently moved to a new place with a small wrap around L shaped front garden. I’m keen to get involved and figure out how to create a nice space.

The first problem I have is the sunny south facing side of the garden is sloped away from the flat so this area is tricky to make use of. Ideally it would be somewhere to sit.

I’ve contacted some landscaping companies and the suggestion is to level the area by using some sleepers to create a retaining wall. I think I’m happy enough with the plan for this and the sleepers are down by the hedge so the “wall” side won’t be too visible. One thing they mentioned that I’m less sure about is using hard core as the base layer, then top soil and finally the turf. The reason given for this was the hardcore will improve drainage as opposed to soil which will tightly compact? Having done a quick google and finding out that hardcore seems mostly to be used to create a surface for patios and driveways would this make having borders, flowers, shrubs, trees etc. more difficult? Is there a minimum amount of soil that should be above the hardcore? We’ve had some very rainy days in Scotland over the last few weeks so I’m not sure if the drainage looked worse than it is but I’m glad the landscapers are thinking about it. :)

Thanks!

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 21,192
    It depends on the depth of the deepest and shallowest parts of the bed. And on what you envisage growing in it. Trees and large shrubs send their roots down a lot lower than annuals.

The basic concept of using hardcore is a good one though, I’d say. Most gardens only have a few inches of real top soil, the rest is subsoil and can vary from clay to sand.