Forum home Problem solving

How best to prepare new beds on heavy clay soil?

Hello,

I recently moved to a house with a large garden on heavy clay soil. I've spent the last year watching what has come up, and eventually decided that I just want to start again. I've started digging over the beds, but if I'm honest I'm still a bit of a novice and I'm not sure I really know what I'm doing! I want to use this opportunity to improve the soil as much as I reasonably can, so I'm planning to dig in lots of compost as I go, but I'm still a bit stuck on questions such as:

- Should I try to remove all the roots I find as I go, or will digging them up just kill the plants by uprooting them? 

- Could I save myself lots of time and effort by using a rotovator, or would that not cut it?

Any other advice would be very much appreciated.

Thank you,

Liz G

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 46,114
    Manure is the best solution for improving clay. Compost is useful too, but manure helps break it down. That can make a big difference quite quickly. You can then plant, adding compost  as you go along, if you want.  :)
    Rotovators are usually a very bad idea if there are any perennial weeds in there. You'll just multiply them by chopping roots.
    If you can't dig pieces out well enough,  allow them to grow and zap them with a good weedkiller. Much easier if it's a large area, and it needs foliage to work.

If it's heavy clay and you're in a very wet, cold part of the country, raised beds make life easier.  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• GardenerSuzeGardenerSuze South NottsPosts: 1,115
    Keep off soil if it is wet you will do more harm than good. Clay can be a problem wet in winter rock hard in summer. Use anything you have to break it up. If you prepare it well now it will pay dividends in the future.
  • VictorMeldrewVictorMeldrew Peak District foothills, CheshirePosts: 436