Forum home Problem solving

I want to repair a lawn but I do want moss in it

Hi folks! I am new to all of this, never had a garden before.
Last year we moved into a house that has a garden. It had been empty for about 8 months before we got it and nobody did much in the garden most of that time. I think the owners went there a couple of times to stop anything from overgrowing into the neighbours but that was it.
Anyway it was June, grass was about waist  to shoulder high. It's not a bad size lawn. As we cut it we discovered that it has millions of dandelions and big leaved weeds in it and the long grass had been disguising dead patches. I tried seeding those but nothing grew in the dead patches so I think maybe weedkiller was used? Anyway, where the grass was healthy there was quite a bit of moss and we realised it feels really nice and "spongy" underfoot, and it's nice and soft for the kids when they're rolling around.
So I thought it'd be nice to get the lawn going this year, but we actually want moss to grow amongst the grass. I've got lawn seed, hopefully any weedkiller will be gone from the dead patches by now but all the lawn feed or feed&weed products I find say they prevent or kill moss. Does anyone know of something that will be nice to my moss and my grass but still give dandelions and things like that a hard time? I know getting the dandelions out by hand is an obvious answer but there's more of them than there are grass at the moment and that'd take years!

• AnniDAnniD Posts: 9,653
    That's a tricky one as it's virtually impossible to find a weed killer that doesn't also get rid of moss, as you say.
    The only thing that l can suggest is to use a "Spot weeder" on the broader leaved weeds, something like Weedol perhaps. 
    https://www.diy.com/departments/weedol-lawn-weed-killer-3l-3kg/5010272189360_BQ.prd?ds_rl=1272379&ds_rl=1272409&ds_rl=1272379&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI186bl9KG9gIVhe3tCh22pwtOEAQYAiABEgJv5vD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds&storeId=1298