Forum home Fruit & veg

When growing veg in pots, what's the best soil to use?

gilla.walmsleygilla.walmsley Posts: 219
edited 10 February in Fruit & veg
After the installation of my greenhouse last month I'm going to have my first proper season of growing veg! I have a small veg patch outside but have also bought some of the Haxnicks Vigoroot planters to grow some things inside the greenhouse (peppers, chillis, cucumber etc). I wondered what's the best soil to use - compost? Top soil? Mushroom compost? A mixture? I live near a decent supplier of all so have the choice, but I'm never really sure what the best thing to use is!

• Jenny_AsterJenny_Aster In the Cambs FensPosts: 527
    You might be interested in Square Foot Gardening, in Mel Bartholomew's book he suggests 1/3 peat (I'm using coir), 1/3 vermiculite, and 1/3  commercial compost (made up of a mixture of 5 different brands).  This is my first year of having a 'go', therefore you might like to do your own research  :)  Just throwing in....
    Trying to be the person my dog thinks I am! 
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 47,195
    It depends on what veg.
    Many things will grow in almost any soil mix, although things like carrots need poor soil. However, if it's specifically for those chillies etc, just something free draining - compost with some grit or perlite. You'll have to go through the usual procedure of sowing and potting on  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• Thank you Fairy girl! That's also good to know about carrots as I'm planning to grow those too...... though I never really understand how you can go about obtaining poor soil (especially when you live in a clay area!)
  • Allotment BoyAllotment Boy North London Posts: 5,316