Forum home Fruit & veg

Quadgrow watering system?

Anyone use Quadgrow system with any success?

I'm thinking of getting a set of 8 for growing tomatoes, the self watering feature is useful when on holiday. Are they worth having, or are there better systems?

• Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 7,860
    I have no experience of them but searching on the site, there are a few threads that may be worth a look - and hopefully you'll get some replies
    https://forum.gardenersworld.com/search?Search=Quadgrow
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • BenCottoBenCotto RutlandPosts: 3,260
    edited 12 January
    I’m very pleased with mine. The water reservoir system means that you only need water once a week - maybe every five days in the height of summer - and the constant supply means I have never experienced blossom end rot and fewer issues with splitting. If you’re on holiday for a longer period of time there is a secondary reservoir system but I just ask the neighbour to come round: it’s a pretty minor chore just to do it every six or so days.

I would advise getting the mulch caps, not so much for their mulching function but because they contain holes for supporting two canes per pot. I use the back cane for the primary stem and grow a second shoot up the front cane. Be careful not to let your tomatoes grow too big as you pot them on or you won’t be able to squeeze them through the mulch cap hole.

In the photo above, the woman has her hand on the mulch cap, the hole for the cane being quite visible. Look carefully and you’ll see the second cane hole below in the body of the Quadgrow.
  • LeadFarmerLeadFarmer Posts: 1,049
    Thanks BenCotto

Is their water butt necessary or could I use my own water butt instead?
    Sorry, I cannot answer that as I have not investigated extending the watering capacity of the system.
  • TheVanguardTheVanguard Posts: 104
    edited 12 January