Forum home Problem solving

Alstromeria in pots

Hello, I'm new to gardening and need some advice on alstromeria. I have two pots of these and after flowering in the autumn I brought the pots into my garage (I don't have a greenhouse) to keep them safe from winter frosts. Unfortunately (?) the plants have continued to grow and now look a bit 'forced'. What should I do? Leave them until Spring? - Take the new growth off now? Move them outside again and get some fleece around them? I don't want to lose them as I think they are the most beautiful flowers I presently have. Thank you anyone with advice. David.

• KeenOnGreenKeenOnGreen Posts: 1,533
    Hi @david.doolin2   I thought that most Alstromeria are hardy in the UK, but not all. You probably didn't need to put them in your garage at all.  I have some in pots, and they have been left outside, even though we have a greenhouse.

I think it would shock your plants to move them in mid-Winter from the relative warmth of the garage to outside, so I would leave them there for now.  I personally would leave the new growth for now, as cutting it back might encourage it to put on more growth, which might exhaust the plant before Spring.

In early Spring I would cut back the foliage to soil level. Then add a bit of fresh compost on top of the pot, plus a regular liquid feed should see it flower reliably next year.

I'm not an experienced grower of Alstromeria, so someone with more knowledge may suggest an alternative approach.

• floraliesfloralies Haute-Garonne SW FrancePosts: 1,596
    Your plants are looking forced @david.doolin2 probably because it's not too cold in the garage but not getting enough light?
    I don't know where you live but I would have thought they would be fine against a south facing wall and then cover with fleece if it looks like freezing. It's more likely to be the wet than the cold that gets them in the winter. 
  • PosyPosy Isle of Wight.Posts: 2,955