Forum home Problem solving

Laurel struggling

Hello I hope someone could give me some guidance I’m a complete gardening novice. We planted a row of Laurel in spring, we treated them all the same but one has really struggled and another too but to a lesser degree. 

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 47,179
    Cherry laurel wouldn't be my choice for pleaching, because of the size and spread they want to be, but it looks like the  failing one has gone short of water through summer, or in the immediate weeks/months after planting.
    They need huge amounts of water, even as small shrubs, never mind as large pleached trees. The most common reason for poor growth is drought. They also need a reasonably decent soil to be planted into.
    It's perfectly normal for them to drop foliage -all evergreens do that, but it gets replaced as long as the conditions are right. 
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• LiriodendronLiriodendron Scariff, County Clare, IrelandPosts: 7,569
    I agree with @Fairygirl about the lack of regular water.  Evergreens don't show you that they're thirsty in the same way other plants do - they don't wilt or look unhappy until it's pretty well too late to do anything about it...

From your photos it looks as if they may have been fastened to the supporting structure with ties which are too tight, and don't allow for expansion - the light green tie in the first picture is a case in point.  I'd check all the ties, and replace any which are going to bite into the bark or constrict the stem.  You can use pieces of old tights (which are stretchy) instead, rather than going to the expense of buying proper tree ties.  Whatever you use needs to be checked regularly though.
    "The one who plants trees, knowing that he will never sit in their shade, has at least started to understand the meaning of life."  Rabindranath Tagore
  • Cambridgerose12Cambridgerose12 Posts: 1,036
    edited December 2021