Forum home Plants

4.5L container fig tree - pot up slowly or pot straight into large planter?

puschkiniapuschkinia BrightonPosts: 143
Hi everyone, I just received my Christmas present early - a beautiful Brown Turkey fig tree :D I have a container for it - a 40cm x 40cm x 44cm planter (https://www.primrose.co.uk/h43cm-classic-planter-nutmeg-p-132707.html), but the tree is still small. It arrived in a 4.5L pot.

Do you think I'd be ok planting the fig straight into the planter, or shall I pot it into something smaller first and move up gradually?

• WonkyWombleWonkyWomble Posts: 4,024
    I'm not a fig expert and the fig I got was a large unwanted one....I know... crazy! Who doesn't want a dog tree???
    Any way I think in your position I'd  put it in a slightly larger pot then plant that pot in the planter for effect,  it would also keep the roots that bit warmer. 😉 
  • I'm not a fig expert and the fig I got was a large unwanted one....I know... crazy! Who doesn't want a dog tree???

Dog tree? 
    I'm confused.
    Never heard of fig called a dog tree.

Dog wood...yes...that is Cornus.
    Perthshire. SCOTLAND .
  • WonkyWombleWonkyWomble Posts: 4,024
    Lol those spellchecker gremlins!!
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 77,481
    😂 @WonkyWomble

When we first got our Brown Turkey fig we bought a lovely large square terracotta container and half filled it with large chunks of polystyrene before putting in a mix of JI3 and horticultural grit and planting the fig. A couple of years later we removed half the polystyrene and added more of the compost mix and a couple of years later we removed it all. It worked for us. 😊 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• puschkiniapuschkinia BrightonPosts: 143