Forum home Plants

Hedge plant spacing question - new hedges v more mature hedges

I am new to gardening and have just planted lots of new young portuguese laurel hedge 60cm and planted about 4 per meter as per per websites advice.

I then planted a larger hedge on the other side that is 2 per meter 150cm.

I cant get my head around why everyone recommend different spacing depending on size, as eventually these will be the same size in several years, but the one planted 4 per meter will be much denser than the 2 per meter!!

Would it not be best to have them all the same and just be patient with smaller ones? I just dont want a hedge that looks inconsistent and one much bushier than the other eventually.

Why would most people recommend this when the plants will be the same size eventually? 4 hedges per meter seems excessive and very close together.

General recommendations on websites:-

Small – 15cm-80cm it is recommended that you plant 4 Portuguese Laurel per metre

Medium – 80cm-120cm it is recommended that you plant 2-3 per metre

Large – 120cm-180cm it is recommended that you plant only 1-2 per metre

• JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 6,064
    I think it's because people expect something that looks like a hedge from day one. The smaller plants take longer to fill out so people tend to plant them closer. In the long run I think they'd probably be better at the wider spacing, but there'd be substantial gaps between them for several years.
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 46,098
    Smaller plants will grow more slowly if they're crammed in, because there's more competition. However, over time, they'll make a good dense hedge. It just takes longer.