Forum home Problem solving

Horticultural Grit

I'm new to planting and have been advised to get Horticultural grit!
I don't know where to start! There are so many variables and brands!

- Do I really need it?
- Does buying more expensive make it better
- What brand/type would you advise

Thanks Lizzie

• BenCottoBenCotto RutlandPosts: 3,278
    What have you been advised that you need it for? That advice might well be misplaced.
  • Claggy soil!!
  • mandyroberts99mandyroberts99 BedfordshirePosts: 188
    If you are going to dig into any size flower bed it will be back breaking and you will need loads!
  • BenCottoBenCotto RutlandPosts: 3,278
    It depends on how much soil you wish to improve but the likelihood is you’ll need tons and tons of grit - far too much to make it an economically viable option. A far better bet is home made compost or manure. Ask on local Facebook sites or Nextdoor.com if there are any nearby bulk suppliers. The neighbourhood allotment might be able to give you a contact as well.
  • Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 7,871
    If it's clay then this article from the RHS should help-
    https://www.rhs.org.uk/soil-composts-mulches/clay-soils
    I used composted bark as they recommend and it has worked a treat on a heavy clay border in my garden
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • VictorMeldrewVictorMeldrew Peak District edge, CheshirePosts: 174
    Hi Lizzie,
    You only need to change your soil if you're intent on growing plants that require a well-drained soil. I'd suggest you buy or borrow Nicola Ferguson's book Right Plant, Right Place or Roy Lancaster's Perfect Plant, Perfect Place and start with plants that like your soil. We have a heavy clay soil and still grow some lovely plants eg. AstrantiaCrocosmiaRudbeckiaPersicariaWeigela, Helenium .... there's loads.
    Every now and then I like to do as I'm told, just to confuse people