Forum home Problem solving

Tree stump

Hello,
I had a tree cut down, as advised by the forum, it had bracket disease and was starting to lean over.
As in photo you will see, the inside is so soft, I could not believe how it was still standing.
my problem, the guy who previously ground stumps out for me, has sold his machine to purchase a bigger one, access into my garden was through a 29 inch wide doorway in the side of the garage, his new machine is far too big.
I do ask, as the inside of the stump is so soft, is there a way I can remove myself, I don’t believe in using chemicals etc 
I have seen for hire near me, a small stump grinder which will fit through any doorway, can I do it myself ?
I am a retired engineer and very used to using machinery etc
Any help appreciated 

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 32,373
    In about a year you could probably break it up with a sledgehammer.
    Devon.
  • Really, do I just leave it as it is ?
    Many thanks
  • Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 32,373
    I'd say it'll just continue to rot.
    Devon.
  • steephillsteephill Posts: 2,476
    You could burn it out. A search on Youtube should bring up a few vidoes showing how to do it but the basics involve cutting a deep cross in the stump to get airflow into a small fire which you maintain on top of the stump. It can take many hours to burn up the stump but it is a free method not involving muscle power.
  • many many thanks to you
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 79,317
    We had a large ash stump ground out using a grinder which was about the size of a good sized petrol rotary mower which wheeled through our narrow side path gate. 
     The chap hired it and the protective goggles, gloves etc. Think he hired them from Screwfix but I may be mistaken about that. He ground it down to below the level of the surrounding soil … we were pleased with the job as it was done.