Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Planting over electric cables?

We've recently had some armoured electric cables put in underground (in a protective tube) for a hot tub, however it's had to be positioned running alongside a fence and I had wanted to plant some privacy hedging and shrubs along this fence for privacy.... will this still be possible? Would the roots be a danger and make this a safety hazard or will the cables be fine protected in its tube?

The plants I had in mind were Red Robins, Conitus and Ceanothus. 

I'm a very novice gardener, so any advice or recommendations on what best to do here would be much appreciated. 

• Pete.8Pete.8 Posts: 11,340
    The armoured cable will be fine.
    I have about 120ft of it running along hedge - I do occasionally come across the cable whilst digging, but it's been there for well over 20 years and I've not electrocuted myself - yet and the leccy still works down the garden.
    You have sensibly also run yours inside a protective tube for added protection - I didn't

Billericay - Essex

Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • FairygirlFairygirl Posts: 55,117
    I can't see it being a problem as long as the cabling has been properly done, and is as near the fence as possible. Any planting would be much further away from the fence anyway. 
    However, it's not something I've ever done, so someone else might be able to offer better advice   :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

I live in west central Scotland - not where that photo is...
  • FireFire Posts: 19,092
    I agree it should be fine if the cabling is in the tube. Just be aware that some plants and shrubs won't do well if planted above the tube. In my narrow garden, my shed tube is shallow forever getting in the way of planting.