Forum home Problem solving

Training a climbing rose

puschkiniapuschkinia BrightonPosts: 155
Hi everyone

I'm new to gardening so apologies if this is a silly question!

I recently planted a climbing rose (Meg) by some trellis, but I'm a bit lost as to how to train it. The branches aren't growing towards the trellis, so from what I understand I need to gently bend them towards the trellis and tie in. The problem is that the plant isn't tall enough to reach the trellis yet (I've attached a photo to show what I mean). Does anyone have advice on what to do?

ps. I feel the rose looks pretty miserable too. I'd planted it wrong - the bud union was above-ground - so I re-planted it yesterday. Hopefully it'll perk up a bit.

• Hi. Given the rose is still so newly planted, I'm afraid you will have to be patient and wait for it to grow some new canes that you can tie in to the trellis! The rose will start to go dormant soon, and so won't show signs of growth until spring. At that time, you could give it some slow release feed to encourage it. As far as I can tell, climbers can take longer to establish than bush roses.
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 47,154
    Not a silly question at all @puschkinia, so don't worry  :)
    If it's only recently planted, it'll take a while to establish the roots, and then it'll grow 'up top'.
    As @Plantminded says - we're now at the dormancy stage for most plants, so new growth will be minimal until spring. Some single canes pushed in  [clear of the roots ] and leaning towards the trellis will give you supports to tie into should there be any decent growth in the meantime. Alternatively, and possibly much better, would be to attach a wire horizontally about half way between the ground level and the trellis, to bridge the gap. A few vine eyes, or even just screws, would be adequate for the wire.  :)