Forum home Garden design

Screening help

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to gardening and have just finished installing an L-shaped raised bed that runs along the fence of our small garden.

I wanted some advice on what to plant. 

I would like tall plants to provide a dense screen that hides the fence. My preference would be for U.K. native plants to support birds and insects.  

I’m open to a single plant that would create a formal hedge or a mixture of plants that I could plant alternately but height and screening is the goal. 

The garden faces south east and the beds get sunlight for at least half the day.

The planting space inside the raised bed is 40cm wide and about 50cm  deep. The height of the fence above the raised bed is about 150cm.

Any ideas would be much appreciated as I have no idea what to plant!

Please ignore the stones on top of the raised bed. We put a thin layer to cover the soil while we decide what and when to plant.

• PosyPosy Isle of Wight.Posts: 3,601
    Are the raised beds open to the soil underneath? Do you want a formal look or something more loose? There is a range of plants you could use if you have the planting depth so this is quite important. I was thinking of clematis, solanum, wisteria for a quick fix.
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 49,135
    Hi @darren.m.willis0MO9c7oA  -if you're picking trees or shrubs, there isn't a huge volume of soil available, so you'd need to be quite careful with your choices, as some will be better suited than others. Some of the bog standard hedging shrubs, like Eleagnus or Portuguese laurel  will be ok, but aren't terribly exciting, but you could intersperse with spring bulbs and some taller perennials :)
    The climate in your area is also a factor, because raised beds drain more rapidly, so if you already have a fairly dry climate, that would be a consideration.
    Climbers would be better, but if you don't own the fence, you'll need permission to attach wires or trellis.