Forum home Garden design

New border help needed

Hi, apologies for the longish post but I’m really in need of some advice.

I’m a newbie to gardening and about to have some garden borders added to what is currently just a grassed garden. I’ve attached a pic below for reference, grass area measures approx 6 metres by 9 metres so not very big.

I have a builder coming in to set the borders in brick hence why I need to make a decision soonish.

My plan was to have a curved border design added the whole way round where the grass meets the walls as everything is very square and straight at the moment in the garden to maybe it will soften it a bit. The right side was to be around 3 ft and the back border 4 ft. I should also mention that I’m looking to plant more evergreen flowering shrubs which also have to be cat safe.

Everyone I have spoken with thinks the border dimensions are far too big for the space and also that I should have just straight lines and no curves. I’m looking to plant things such as viburnum tinus eve price, magnolia fairy blush, a pittosporum silver queen, some buddleia and dwarf lilacs and possibly a camellia for the shaded corner. I should also mention the garden is south facing, so the right side receives sun until lunch time and the back side receives sun all afternoon. 

Am I being a bit over ambitious for the space? Would anyone have any advice on the small space please? I am interested in lowish maintenance, evergreen shrubs.

Any help/advice would be much appreciated.

Many thanks
Rebecca 

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 49,112
    Hi @rebeccajwright90. If you want curves - you have curves   :)
    What I'd suggest is that you try an oval. That will give you plenty of planting space, but leave you with a nice lawn as well.
    If you do it on an angle, it will also give a different perspective. If you simply cut a curve, you could be left with an odd shape of lawn, which could be distracting.