Forum home Wildlife gardening

Hedgehog Home/ feeder!!

jakeandjoeshowjakeandjoeshow Posts: 2
edited September 2021 in Wildlife gardening
Hi there,  im a newbie here so hello to all!!
I’v purchased a hedgehog house with a baffle to stop cats and foxes entering and set it up as a feeding chamber and iv set up 3 bricks on top of each other 5” from the hog home entrance doorway!  But im still not convinced its the hedgehog iv saw a couple if times in my garden so my question is would birds enter my hog home or a squirrel?  And eating wet cat food and hedgehog food home!  As only thing i think that would fit in would be a bird for sure,   Or maybe a small squirrel that do live around my area.  I know for sure now its not a fox or a cat now due to putting up 3 bricks 5” from the hog home doorway!  So im just trying to eliminate what other animals are eating the cat food and hedgehog food so i know for sure its the hedgehog that’s eating the food! I feed birds also but im suspicious it coukd be the Starlings entering my hog house as i saw a bird poop right at the entrance of hig house. Iv not saw any hedgehog poop in house or near... anyway thanks guys for your answers i will be very much appreciate your input here... Cheers  Pauline.. Xx

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 33,676

HI , and welcome to the Forum.
    I use a trap, with a stick to stop the door closing ( keeps the local cats out ). My wee Spikeys come every night around 9pm.
    Devon.
  • AnniDAnniD Posts: 11,148
    What material is your feeding station made from ? I would think a bird would only enter if it could see what was in there, so if it is solid, my money is on maybe a mouse or rat (sorry).
    The only way to find out for sure is to set up a wildlife camera.
  • FairygirlFairygirl Posts: 50,122
    You'd be surprised how easily cats get in @jakeandjoeshow  :/
    Won't be birds, and highly unlikely to be a fox due to the size, or a squirrel.