Forum home Tools and techniques

Thin Hornbeam Hedge Pruning Advice

I am a novice gardener.

Planted some bear root hornbeam plants at the begging of the year.  I have had to space them out to get around stumps from the old conifer hedge.

Since planting I have not done much but water them.

How can I thicken up the hedge, and how brutal should I be with pruning?

I note people suggest cutting back to just above a leaf or stem node, how can these be identified?

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 46,313
    It'll take until next year to be established. Just needs time. 

You could nip the tops out though. Take roughly a foot off [30cm] and to where there are leaf joints, which is where the foliage is coming out of the main stem  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• bcpathomebcpathome Buckinghamshire Posts: 288
    Why does everyone want results NOW .Have some patience for goodness sake .
  • Allotment BoyAllotment Boy North London Posts: 4,999
    Yes it might seem counter intuitive,  but cutting back will stimulate growth, and especially side shoots which will thicken it up.
    AB Still learning

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 77,425
    edited August 2021
    Don’t think the OP is expecting a thick hedge just yet @bcpathome  … they just recognise there are techniques to follow that will result in a better hedge later on than just ignoring it would do … and very sensibly have asked for advice. @Fairygirl has given it. All is well. 
    😊 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• bcpathomebcpathome Buckinghamshire Posts: 288
    Ok
  • Completely agree that time will be your friend. They need time to root in before they can put on lots of growth. When you prune you basically promote bushing out. You can speed up the thickening process by planting close together but just taking the top leader out will help.