Forum home Tools and techniques

Mattock Club

• Goodness me, I am behind the times. Can mattocks be 3D printed? I imagine they would shatter at the first strike.
  • TheGreenManTheGreenMan Tyne and Wear Green Belt Posts: 880
    @CostumedVole

I was thinking more of the lost/mangled body parts we’re bound to encounter but 3D printed mattocks would be a great idea for merch! 
  • That's definitely your wheelhouse. I'm the rule-maker, that's all. Talk about Mattock Club, and wear steel toed boots. My contribution done and dusted right there.
  • TheGreenManTheGreenMan Tyne and Wear Green Belt Posts: 880
    @CostumedVole

You also bring the enthusiasm which, like a fine honey fungus, will infect most members. 

Never underestimate your worth in GWFMC. 
  • FireFire LondonPosts: 12,242
    "You could probably print toes but bowels would be much more of a challenge."
    I will add that to my list of sentences I have never written before.
    Also, if you look the line up on Google, it will not be there.
  • ErgatesErgates Devon, east of ExeterPosts: 1,180
    Thank you for the warm welcome, GreenMan! I know they can 3D print ears, not sure about bowels. Might have to ask Pat E to knit me a length, should I need it. If I don’t fall on the mini mattock, the other concern is the secateurs in the apron pocket.....
    What might be good would be something like an archery quiver, so I can reach over my shoulder like Robin Hood ( or Maid Marian, - in my case, Old Maid Marian )
    Have been seriously considering putting a long cord on my red suede bramble gauntlets. I could hang them round my neck like we did with mittens when I was a child, so I have those handy as well, they are too big for the apron pockets.
    Ive just had a horrid image of myself being found in the garden, partially strangled and with severe abdominal injuries. The trouble is the garden is over an acre, and quite hilly, so it’s a real bore to have to come back to the house for tools.