Forum home Fruit & veg

San Marzano foliage

zakthecatzakthecat Wallasey, MerseysidePosts: 44
I think I probably need to remove some of the foliage on these San Marzanos but wanted to check before taking the secateurs to them. I took my eye off the ball for a while and they've suddenly gone feral (I know they're too close together but this is my first year growing them and I'm still learning). I've also got some in the greenhouse, in individual pots - all now producing fruit - so I'm hopeful for some sort of usable crop next month.

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 47,159
    Hi @zakthecat - yes, a bit congested!  Not to worry, and you've realised the problem which all helps too.  :)
    It's difficult to see from that distance really, but you can certainly take some of the damaged, manky foliage at the bottom off. Normally, you wouldn't really remove any, or very much, until there are fruits growing well, but it won't matter. I assume you've got some fruit on them?
    I don't grow these ones, but if you've got loads of sideshoots, and it's an indeterminate variety, it would be worth taking a bit of time to go over the plants and take out  as many as you can. That will improve the airflow round the plants too.  :)

Toms can often do better when they're a bit stressed - they get pushed into flowering and fruiting quicker because they feel threatened, and want to hurry and reproduce. 
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• zakthecatzakthecat Wallasey, MerseysidePosts: 44
    Thanks Fairygirl. This is only my second year of growing toms and I was determined to learn from last year's mistakes, so I was very conscientious about removing side shoots, but suddenly they just seemed to have gone a bit wild. I need to remember that although they start off small, they do get much, much bigger! I'll remove the manky foliage and probably thin them out a bit - after all, I want them to put their energy into producing fruit, not leaves.