Forum home The potting shed

What do you do to keep cool and comfortable in the hot weather?

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 16,789
    I'm OK up to 30°. The last 2 days we have been visiting gardens. I hate it when it's 35° when I'm in my house in SW France. At the moment I'm in OH's house in Norfolk. Weather is lovely, I'm in a cotton summer dress. In France when it's very hot I have a huge cotton T shirt which I dip in cold water and wring it out, wear it damp. But my French house has very thick stone walls downstairs which keep it cool. Upstairs the bedrooms are under the slope of the roof which is hotter, although insulated. I shut the shutters in the day and open them at night.
    Dordogne and Norfolk
  • WonkyWombleWonkyWomble Posts: 3,701
    Got hot flushes due to age here also so I'm an expert at this!!

All windows and blinds shut in the day And open at night.  Garden hand mister in the house.  I sleep on two of those pet cooling mats,  one under my head one over my body.  If working in the garden I take my t shirt off and run it under a cold tap,  wring it out and put it back on again. Drink lots of water 💧
  • FireFire LondonPosts: 10,904
    tbh, I don't find very hot or very cold weather, or indeed any weather a problem, apart from the close, low, muggy days, esp when it's hot. If the sun is blazing and the skies are all clear I just try to lie still in front of a fan. But 30oC and close - which we have in London now - I find so hard. I get cracking headaches and my eyes feel puffed out. There's nothing you can do - you just have to wait until the skies clear. The last week has been pretty clear in London but we look to move into a few weeks of heavy cloud. I feel like I'm suffocating. Bleurrgh
  • NorthernJoeNorthernJoe Posts: 549