Forum home Plants

Climbing rose on narrow trellis

I’m quite new to gardening and since last year have been training a couple of climbing roses (David Austin, Generous Gardener) to quite narrow trellises.However, having done some more research I am concerned I may have made an error….

I thought I could focus on building one or two main stems, and train side stems for the lateral growth. See pictures. 

After doing a bit more research I now understand I should be planning for several main stems, and cutting back the side shoots closer to the main stem.  

Does anyone have feedback on how I can plan to remedy the situation? Ideally I’d like to have flowers up the trellis, then also arching out left and right above the trellis. 

Any suggestions on how I should train the main stems to achieve this? Do I need to zig zag the main stems or are there better approaches?

Any help much appreciated!! Cheers, Matt

• NollieNollie Posts: 6,772
    Hi Matt,

The Generous Gardener is a large climbing rose that is not really suitable for growing in a pot long term, so would not have been my first choice for attempting to do so. David Austin says it is suitable for a 10ft wall or a large arch. There are more compact climbing roses that would better suit life in a pot and the existing space. Sorry, you really didn’t want to hear that I’m sure!

The pot I can see in photo 1 looks not much more than half-filled - with what? Roses need the largest, deepest pot you can find, filled to near the brim with a good, loam based growing medium and a lot more TLC than roses in the ground - regular watering and feeding, plus mulching with fresh compost at least annually. Also you have other plants competing for water and nutrients in there. In saying all that, they look healthy so far, so you have clearly been looking after them.