Forum home Fruit & veg

Spots on potato leaves - is it blight?

YessicaHaircutYessicaHaircut Sussex coastPosts: 104
It's my first time growing potatoes and I have a couple of bags of first earlies and a couple of bags of maincrop growing. They were all growing vigorously and looking really healthy, but recently the maincrop growth massively overtook the earlies and the the earlies seem to have stopped growing and are looking quite unhealthy. There are brown spots on some of the leaves, but I've read that if it's blight, there should be white white mould underneath and there's no sign of this. Can anyone diagnose the problem for me please?

• Allotment BoyAllotment Boy North London Posts: 5,014
    The tops of potatoes often get marked & spots.  Have the early ones flowered yet? If they have it may be worth having a little rummage in the soil they might be ready.  1st early spuds only take approx 10 weeks in good conditions. They will never be as big in bags or pots as in the ground so enjoy them young. Lates take 12-18 weeks depending upon the variety. 
    AB Still learning

• YessicaHaircutYessicaHaircut Sussex coastPosts: 104
    edited June 2021
    Thanks for such a quick response. So you don't think it's blight or anything else serious going on? That's good news if so! :smile: The maincrop are flowering at the moment, but no flower action on the earlies. 
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 77,491
    edited June 2021
    Some varieties don’t flower much if at all … if you planted your earlies more than ten weeks ago it’s time to start digging them up. 😊 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh