Forum home Plants

Planting in pots

Hello
I am a beginner gardener and this year have just started getting and planting in pots. The pots I planted earlier on all have green stems now though no flowers yet, but I just planted bulbs and seeds in pots that won't flower until August time and they look empty.
I want to know if I can purchase some smaller plants to line the edges until these plants grow so the pots look nicer, or will that stop the bulbs growing. I have planted eucomis and zinnia dahlia. Would there be any plants you recommend tgat I could get that will be flowering June and July that could sit along these?

I am unsure how I can multiple seeds and bulbs in pots to have flowers from spring to late summer. My pots look so unattractive while they are just growing.

Thanks

Helen 

• philippasmith2philippasmith2 Posts: 3,675
    I think you need to be somewhat more specific ....... the size of your pots, plastic or otherwise . where you are placing them ( sun/shade ), what bulbs ( other than Eucomis) are you growing, what seeds you have sown so far - annuals, perennials, biennials ? Do you want some pots to have permanent planting and have others which will just look attractive for the summer whilst you wait for the bulbs to flower ?
    There are numerous annuals that you can either sow now or probably buy in a GC  which would flower and give you a bit of interest and colour but without knowing what you are aiming for, it's a wee bit difficult to make any sensible suggestions.  
  • AnniDAnniD Posts: 12,453
    Hello Helen :) ,
    Could we have a little more information please, such as the size of pots, and are they terracotta or plastic ?
    What are you growing in them ?