Forum home Problem solving

Newly seeded lawn

Hi there, this is my first time posting, I recently (18 days ago) sowed the seeds for my new lawn. After 5 days I saw shoots appear and once they were fairly evenly established across the lawn I started watering only in the mornings rather than morning and evening. The lawn is coming along lovely, to the extent that for the most part, the grass is already in need of mowing... This is my problem, and my question, I have read that you should wait 6-8 weeks from sowing to make the first cut, however that you should mow when it is about 7cm long but also that you shouldn't cut more than a third of the grasses length off at a time, especially on its first cut. Now, one of these three is not going to be able to be fulfilled... What should I do? Thanks!

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 37,066
    If it's long enough to cut, then that's fine. I'd say 7cm is a bit short to cut. I wouldn't cut new grass until it's about 4inches/10 cm.
    Yes - only take a small amount off with each cut to encourage the grass to thicken up and spread sideways [tillering] which will give a better result, and will be a stronger, healthier lawn. Little and often is always better. 
    If you live in an area that gets lower rainfall over summer, it's always better to leave it a little longer anyway. Cutting too short makes it less able to withstand long dry spells.  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• Thanks very much that's a great help, I was mostly worrying about standing on the grass as I wasn't sure if due to the fact it's only been sown 18 days, it wouldn't appreciate me doing so, and may suffer as a result.. a lot of the grass is 10cm so I'm gonna go for it. Get it thickened up as you say, and fill in some of those patches. Thanks again :)
  • JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 4,146