Forum home Garden design

Forward thinking

Good evening all. So as I have posted many times before, I am a novice gardener. Me and my family finally moved into our forever home and we have what I would consider a lovely south facing garden. We have only been here since March so I have done what I could with the garden with the time that I have had. However, I am now trying to forward think and get a plan sorted for next growing season.

I want a fully edible garden with possible year round edibles (I have read kale is a great grow for a year rounder). I’m after some ideas of what would be good to grow, relatively easy to grow, what pairs well, what deters pests etc… I have attached a pic of my garden as it currently is. Any advice or ideas would be greatly appreciated!

• BigladBiglad East LancashirePosts: 2,781
    I definitely fall into the novice category, but, in terms of perennial edibles, I've found rhubarb and strawberries very easy to grow and propagate.
  • Jamie DJayJamie DJay Posts: 62
    Biglad said:
    I definitely fall into the novice category, but, in terms of perennial edibles, I've found rhubarb and strawberries very easy to grow and propagate.
    I was thinking about doing rhubarb next year, I love rhubarb… the raised bed on the right has 9 varieties of strawberries, I ain’t going to get much of a crop I don’t think, and apparently for my size family (6 of us) I should be looking at about 30 plants for a decent crop for the whole family 😧
  • Lizzie27Lizzie27 SomersetPosts: 10,547
    @JamieDjay, you could try growing an espalier apple tree (google it) against your sunniest fence, also a cultivated blackberry ditto.  I also grow 2 gooseberry bushes in a very small space, both pruned to a 'U' shape so upwards rather than as a bush - easier to pick as they are very prickly. You could also try hanging baskets or wall pouches with strawberries in. I'm not sure about vegetables, maybe all year round salad leaves?
    Good luck.
    Lizzie27 said: