Forum home Problem solving

What is happening to all my plants?! Please help!

Hi everyone,

this is my first year growing veg, fruit, and flowers, and frankly it's going terribly. I live up in the hills of North Wales so it has been stupid cold and awful weather until the first of June when suddenly it got really hot. I've sown everything from seed and needless to say, I'm actually pretty upset how badly this has all gone. What am I doing wrong? Our aim is to feed ourselves as best we can so I do need to get good at this lol. 

Not a single pea, eating or sweetpea plant, has matured, all are very short, stunted, gone pale, and look as if they've also now been nibbled. The stunted and pale happened first, none seem to grow past 8 inches, and most less than that. I've some pics below - any ideas?

My green sprouting broccoli (which I understood was one that grows quicker than the purple, all of my purple sb has died) looks like it's bolted, I think that's gone to flower, and they are only about 8inches tall. Eaten to bits as well - I'm guessing this may be caterpillars and therefore I need netting, but what about the awful stunted growth again? Too little water? Wrong earth? (planted in the ground with some manure that was added about three months ago as I've no garden compost).
aSomething appears to be eating my lavender - all the leaves are browning and have loads of holes in them, it looks dreadful unhealthy. I've watered it today due to the week of very warm weather and no rainfall - its been a few weeks since it was last watered - too little water an issue? 

My french beans, and my Zinnias, had been super green and growing well then all of a sudden turned yellow and unhealthy looking - half the beans seem to have just died.

Zinnia

French beans

Even my poor blueberry plant is taking a bad hit - looks half eaten as well as poorly otherwise, what is going on here? I'm growing it in a pot of ericaceous compost, is it underwatered, underfed?