Forum home Plants

Rodgersia!

AstraeusAstraeus SheffieldPosts: 313
Here is a lovely plant that is not often mentioned.

I am planning to include it in my pond/bog garden/bankside planting scheme, using the extensive foliage to hide the top of a sunken pressure filter. I am struggling to decide between varieties so I thought it would reach out to see what experiences and recommendations you had.

Thanks,

A.

• ButtercupdaysButtercupdays Posts: 4,291
    I've no experience  with them, but |I know what you mean! They are on my shopping list too, for a corner that needs some attention and there are so many good ones. I have a big garden and you need big plants to make an impact, plus you need fewer plants overall.
    Been looking at Woottens who have some, but they don't have the one with the brown chestnut leaves that I want, so will have to do more research to find it :)

• shane.farrellshane.farrell Posts: 204
    I really like them and as an aside, I have found mine divided easily just before growth started by simply slicing up the crown with a bread knife to ensure each had an eye and roots. Like a Hosta really.
    I'd not worry too much about the variety as I bought one labelled Rodgersia aesculifolia but the leaves suggest it is podophylla. Either way it's a great plant and grows well in relative shade and with a bit more sun as long as the ground remains quite moist.
    There are slug warnings on most sites but despite many plants getting munched in the garden, the Rodgersia does not seem to get bothered (fingers crossed). Mine currently has bronzy new leaves which turn a nice mid green eventually. Flower spikes rose to about 1.4m in the first year after I bought mine but they were a decent size. For anyone with a moist shady/part shady spot, I'd recommend highly. Mine sits well with Pulmonaria under it as they don't mind the shade as the Rodgersia rise up.
  • Silver surferSilver surfer Posts: 4,148
    Perthshire. SCOTLAND .