Forum home Plants

Bougainvillea lilac placement

Hi,

I bought a bougainvillea lilac plant from an online shop and was expecting more of a bushy plant. The website said it was fine for patios, but I’ve since read it should be kept in a warm conservatory?! I live in North Yorkshire so not the warmest of climates.

Could anyone tell me if it would be okay to keep this in a container in an area with full sun and then bring it in the house at the end of summer?

Also, does anyone have any advice about training the vine? I have no idea where to start with training this on this shape of cane! As you can tell, I’m a beginner gardener (trying my best!) so please be kind!

• philippasmith2philippasmith2 Posts: 1,681
    Bougainvillea is really a plant for warmer climates most often seen in southern European
     gardens. 
    Unless the climate changes even more dramatically, not sure that North Yorkshire is what it would be looking for.
    Given a decent summer, you may get away with it but a CH house over the winter won't really be much good.
    In a suitable habitat, it can be a vigorous climber needing plenty of support.
    Hate to say it but you may have chosen a plant which just won't suit your needs.  It seems that Garden Centres will persist in offering unsuitable plants for sale and rarely give honest info and advice to prospective purchasers.
    Sorry for the negative advice :)

• NollieNollie Girona, Catalunya, Northen Spain.Posts: 5,655
    I’m really sorry, I’m afraid I agree with Philippa. It would need a much larger pot, a trellis or obelisk over the top to train it up/around and your warmest, sunniest, most sheltered spot in summer. It would not be happy in a heated house over winter, it would dry out too much, but die if left outside in Yorkshire..  I live in Spain and can’t grow one, winters are too cold in my location!