Forum home Plants

Wildflower or Weed?

bob2seabob2sea Posts: 2
My workplace has allowed me to plant a wildflower garden within our depot :) Thanks to all the rain and sun things are coming along nicely with lots of little shoots now appearing. However, I have just noticed this little fella. A lot more advanced than everything else in the patch and looks familiar to me as a weed, but as I'm no expert, I thought I'd check with you guys. For extra info, it is covered in lots of little white hairs.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 82,282
    edited May 2021
    What a lovely idea 😊 

It’s Common Hogweed (not the dangerous Giant one). 
    I spent many childhood hours picking it for pet rabbits and the family goat. 

A great flower for pollinators. 

By the way, many or even most wildflowers are weeds ... and vice versa. 
    Beauty is in the eye of the beholder 😊 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• bob2seabob2sea Posts: 2
    Ah ok. Our main aim was to help the bees so if it’s good for pollinators then I’ll leave it. Thanks for the info. 
    Hoverflies love it. 😊 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• ShepherdsBarnShepherdsBarn DevonPosts: 401
    Common hogweed can still pose a threat to some people and is difficult to eradicate - it spreads easily and I would get rid of it asap, if I were you!
    A threat?  How?  It can cause a bit of rash on some sensitive skins. So can many plants ... I knew a child who got a skin rash from playing on newly cut grass. 

💡 I know ... let’s just exterminate everything 🙄 

The place for common hogweed is on roadside verges.
    Exterminate everything ... yeah, wow what a great idea 🙄 .
    edited May 2021