Forum home Garden design

Opinions please :)

KCMM09KCMM09 WalesPosts: 72
edited 4 May in Garden design
Hi all, 
this is my garden. I feel brave posting as I’m a bit unhappy with it at the moment. To the left, you can see some perennials have been planted or coming back, the arbour has a bare root rose climber starting to grow and a potted started to grow over it. To the right of that are roses and a continus shrub which ill keep small. In the sleepers are various shrubs and some bedding. Some haven’t grown back yet etc. 

My garden is north facing. Clay soil but within the borders I have dug a few feet and replaced with compost mixtures. The sleepers were clay and I also add compost to that. 

I like gardening any time of year. I’d like the garden to have full borders all year round. I like perennials but feel
more shrubs may be beneficial. I like cottage plants.

I’d like ideas of what you’d do if this was your garden, to the borders. Kind words only please :) I’m new to gardening 

• KCMM09KCMM09 WalesPosts: 72

• JacquimcmahonJacquimcmahon Paris FrancePosts: 655
    It likes lovely. Clearly you have put a lot of thought into the layout. A lot will depend on what your personal style is, formal, cottage, wild… whatever or even specific colour schemes etc. possibly more than that also how much annual time you want to spend doing gardening. All of these will have an effect on “what next” types of decisions.
    Thank you @Jacquimcmahon
    i like pinks, whites, purples and evergreens with green foliage. The layout is done now as it took a lot of time but within the borders I like cottage type plants. I would like to have a full garden border though all year round 
  • Nanny BeachNanny Beach Posts: 6,008
    Welcome we only do kind words on here. We need soil type clay, sand,chalk,does garden face NSEW style,how mut time and money are you prepared to throw at it. If you want to know what we would do, that's like how long is a piece of string