Forum home Fruit & veg

Sweetcorn

Hi  please help.

I tried to grow sweetcorn but it died off wondered if anyone can help so my next attempt is successful.

I started in seed trays each seed in its own section.

It germinated and the plant grew a good 2 inches and started to lean over. I then very gently (or at least I thought I had) transferred to bigger ceramic pots, but they died off. Anyone know why this might have happened and would I be better off planting the seeds in very large pot.  My intention was to keep them in big pots as have tiny garden. Thank you.

• ButtercupdaysButtercupdays Posts: 3,373
    Not sure this is the best choice for a tiny garden... sweetcorn is pollinated by the wind and is usually planted in blocks to get the best chance of pollination. No pollination, no corn. They grow quite tall and I would imagine it would take a lot of watering to keep them happy in pots. There might not be much room for anything else either!
    I'm not an expert, I haven't even planted my seeds yet, as it has been too cold here, but I will do them in the next week or so and intend to use a module tray so they are easy to move on.
    If yours were leaning they may have been short of light - did you turn them every day? It can be hard early in the year to get the balance right and every year is different. Mine will go in the greenhouse as soon as they are through, but I may have to suspend them from the roof to keep them away from the mice, they've already had one lot of beans!
    It's not too late to have another go, if you think you can meet their needs, but there are easier crops to choose. If you just like sweetcorn though, good luck :)
  • EmptyheadtimeEmptyheadtime Posts: 4