Forum home Garden design

Lawn Perimeter Design... Help!

Hi I'm new to this whole gardening thing! We decided to tear out the old lawn and even out the ground a bit. Now it's time to sow lawn seeds and we would appreciate some advice on the design of the boundaries (and probably the rest too! :blush:).

We would like to grow some fruit and veg (courgettes, sweetcorn, tomatoes, strawberries etc), the left bed gets most of the sunlight so probably there? The string line is currently about 1 meter from the fences. Should we run the lawn all the way to back fence or maintain a border?

For reference, the fence panels on the left and back are 1.8 x 1.8m (6x6 ft). We have a couple of small children so the swing is here for the forseeable future. The garden slopes downwards towards the rear at about 5%.

Any help / suggestions would be welcome.

• Ideally, you want to make sure the grass is easy to cut. Even at the edges.

If you're happy strimming the edges the mower misses then go right up to the fence. Alternatively, you could install a mowing strip with sleepers or block paving so you can roll your mower right over it.

Or, you could just have an open border and cut a definitive edge into lawn, if that makes sense.

Not sure if this article will help or not?

https://simplelawncare.co.uk/lawn-design/

• TopbirdTopbird Mid SuffolkPosts: 7,592
    From a design point of view I'd be tempted to make the lawn circular, oval or elliptical in shape.

That way you'll get a nice sized bit of grass which you can take nearly to the fences at the 'sides' 'bottom' and 'top' but with some good deep planting areas in the 'corners'. You could also make the lawn diamond-shaped instead of square if you prefer straight lines - but you'll get a smaller area of grass. 

Both those options will be quite pleasing to the eye and make the garden seem larger.