Forum home Plants

Possible frost

smudge249smudge249 Posts: 11
Good morning, 
I am a novice gardener and been trying to learn as much as I can for a beginner. One thing was to harden plants before planting out and I bought a few for borders, pots and hanging baskets and for 2 days now they been outside in day and inside at night. I was going to plant them today but see weather for tonight is 2c and clear skies. Is this bit risky for frost? Thing is I won't get chance to plant until Thursday if I wait but if had to would they be OK in their containers for another 2 days?
Thanks

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 20,455
    I would wait a bit. Are you in the north or the south? There can still be frosts until mid May at least.

Are they in small pots or plugs? If plugs then it would be best to pot them on into something a bit bigger and fresh compost. Hardening off usually takes about a week, 2 days isn't really enough.
    Dordogne and Norfolk
  • smudge249smudge249 Posts: 11
    Hi Busy-Lizzie I'm in South and a few are in plugs so will get them transferred to pots. Thanks for advice didn't realise needed more than couple days 
  • AthelasAthelas CambridgeshirePosts: 690
    You can check out the forecast for frost where you are on https://www.metcheck.com/

Go to Weather > Forecasts > Frostrisk

Example below:

• carletonexoticcarletonexotic YorkshirePosts: 80
    This is also a good map for checking average last frost dates: https://www.plantmaps.com/interactive-united-kingdom-last-frost-date-map.php
    An exotic jungle garden in West Yorkshire: instagram.com/carletonexotic 
  • smudge249smudge249 Posts: 11
    Brilliant thanks for those
  • Nanny BeachNanny Beach Posts: 8,299