Forum home Garden design

Landscaping Ideas

pjwilson83pjwilson83 Posts: 2
edited April 2021 in Garden design
Newbie here and a complete gardening novice so please be kind...  :smiley:
We moved into this new home 9 years ago. At the time we just got the garden turfed and slabbed but now we would like a complete garden overhaul.
The problem is that it slopes - a lot!
As you look out onto the back garden from the back door of the house, there is a fairly flat bit of garden which then slopes quite steeply down. Also, it slopes down to the left.
Because of this we feel that a) a lot of the garden is unuseable and b) we have little to no provacy since we are higher up than the surrounding houses to the left of us.
I've attached some pictures which hopefully give an idea of this.
Ideally we would like to get a landscaper in to 'design' a new garden for us but I thought I'd come on here first to see if anyone could give us some good ideas on how to make the most of the space we have, what do to about the slopes and how to make the garden more private.
I'd say our budget would be around £10k.
TIA!

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 28,555
    There have been a couple of sloping gardens featured in the Garden Rescue series so you could start by googling for those on Youtube etc.

Doing a decent design which gives you some level spaces and privacy will probably involve scooping out layers to make a sunken and/or terraced garden so you'll need to factor in hiring a mini-digger and doing some retaining walls.   Best to plan it out on squared paper in advance to make the best use of the hired machinery and save time and money.

Some ideas here to get your creative juices flowing:
    https://www.google.co.uk/search?sxsrf=ALeKk03UQgV77IjXHDxRqN2VWYQ3unJKkA:1619287750785&source=univ&tbm=isch&q=sloping+gardens+landscape+design+plans&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjUgbL5vJfwAhVGqxoKHerTA7AQjJkEegQIAhAB&biw=1280&bih=606
    and