Forum home Plants

Slugs

peteSpeteS Posts: 706
Has anyone ever used 'Nemaslug' or any other similar product; and what were the results. Cheers.

• PosyPosy Isle of Wight.Posts: 2,626
    It's good stuff but has some drawbacks. It only works in warm soil. Many slugs are out and about now, eating up your emerging plants, but it's much too cold for nematodes. It is also punishingly expensive. 
  • peteSpeteS Posts: 706
    Thanks for that @Posy...yes, the expense is an issue, that's why I thought I would try and get someone with first hand experience in using it first.
    I have no knowledge of the life cycle of a slug, but is there any evidence of it disrupting the egg laying process by killing them off during the summer and thus reducing the numbers next year.
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 69,217
    We used it on the veg patch some 5 or 6 years ago ... it seemed to work ... we’ve not needed to repeat it ... we get a little  slug damage on lettuces etc, but not much. 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

I had a really bad slug problem,  especially  Spanish slugs and nothing I tried helped. They were everywhere. I started,very unwillingly, picking them up at night and putting them into a bucket with a couple of inches of very salty water. At first I would get 400 - 600 in an hour. But it works. I no longer have a problem, it's cheap and I have learned to enjoy my night garden.
  • FireFire LondonPosts: 9,502
    I haven't found nematodes to be at all useful. I know others have. I am going to give it one more go on my front garden. It's worth following the instructions very carefully if you are going to try. Night temps are still too cold to use it now. Drench all the soil fully before using, use then and soak again afterwards.
  • Fran IOMFran IOM Posts: 1,356