Forum home Garden design

Border ideas and feedback for a novice

Hello! An absolute novice here looking for some help and advice. :)

We moved into a house with a garden that has been somewhat neglected over the years. I have cleared and planted two other beds, but this one is one if the last to be done. It's chock full of weeds, but nothing too threatening and the edging needs to be redone. I would like some advice and ideas about what to plant in a border.

It's about 0.5 deep in front of a fence and about 3m long. The soil is very clay, the spot gets a reasonable amount of sun up to about 2pm everyday. I don't mind a bit of upkeep, but would like a nice mix of evergreens, shrubs and perrenials, especially longer lasting ones.

There are a few established plants already there (a sedum to the left, an unhappy hellebore amongst the weeds, a heather type plant that may even have self-seeded, ivy and an evergreen shrub under towards the end (possibly hebe?). There is also a leggy mahonia in the corner, which I will be cutting right back after the birds have had the berries. I would like to remove it in the longer term as it doesn't seem a good spot for it, possibly putting a eucalyptus gunnii bush here instead. I am happy to remove any of these plants, or work with them depending on advice. 

After clearing the bed of weeds and boosting the soil a bit, I had thought about this possible border:
Astrantia and anemone towards the back.
Hellebores and/or choisia in the middle
Hardy geraniums at the front and maybe some phlox, to tie in with another part of the garden.
I quite like plants with interesting leaves like brunnera or hosta, especially greeny blue colours, so I also thought about maybe some sage and possibly some lavender as well. I also considered cerinthe.

Does this sound reasonable or have I made any novice mistakes? I would love to hear some feedback and any other ideas would be fab!

Thank you.