Forum home Fruit & veg

Peat Free Compost

nellat41nellat41 NorfolkPosts: 1
I have been buying peat free compost for the past 2 years but not every garden centre stocks it.  I was out yesterday buying a few plants at a local nursery and overheard a young man asking the assistant about Peat free Compost.  He wanted to buy some because he'd heard it was better for the environment etc.

The assistant just dismissed what he said by saying 'it doesn't matter it's just some gardener's prefer it' and pointed him to the compost containing peat (because that's all they stocked). Fair enough as they wanted a sale and compost containing peat will be fine for his plants but now one new gardener is going away thinking that buying peat free doesn't matter.

How do we get the message across about peat free compost and, why is it more expensive to buy peat free?

• JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 3,891
    Peat-free needs to be cheaper than peat-based to encourage the masses, and it needs to be properly made so it's not too coarse, twiggy and full of bits of rubbish to convince many gardeners and professional growers). Goodness knows why it's more expensive - maybe it's cheaper to dig peat that can be made straight into compost than to use space and resources to compost bark, wood, green waste etc in sufficient quantities to meet demand. Maybe if the powers that be won't ban peat extraction, they need to at least slap a big tax on it.
  • PlashingPlashing Posts: 268
    The trouble with peat free compost is that you could get chemicals in it, there is a debate going on about plants turning heir toes up, its like if you get horse manure from stables it often comes with chemicals in it. I always try and buy peat free peat if I can but it is a awful job to be sure it is, my son got me some  multi purpose from B M store and so far I have had good gemination with my tomatoes and peppers and lettuce.
  • ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 25,365