Forum home Plants

David Austin shrub roses - true size for back of border

KatnippyKatnippy Posts: 15

Hello, can anyone tell me if any of these DA shrubs would be suitable for back of the border?

Lady of Shalott, The Poet’s Wife, Princess Alexander of Kent

To give you some context, I have an east facing back garden so mostly partial shade but I have one sunny section saved for a mixed border inc some roses. I don’t mind if they grow as tall as the fence (1.5m -ish) but due to busy family life I don’t have time to support shrubs (plus I’m not very good at it). I thought, from info on the DA website, that PAoK and TPW would be good for front of the border but I’ve recently read they’ve reached 5ft+ high for some people. Do all three shrubs still keep their shape if left to grow larger or is it better to prune them harder, aiming for the sizes indicated by DA? Any advice is appreciated as I don’t want to plant them in the wrong place. Time, money and space mean that I’d like to do my best to get it right the first time...ideally!

• OmoriOmori Posts: 1,673
    Bumping for you. I have two of those but they’re new to me this year so can’t really advise. 
  • debs64debs64 Posts: 5,118
    @Marlorena is the one to ask. Hoping she sees this post now and can advise. 
  • NollieNollie Posts: 7,511
    I had LoS at the back of a sunny border with just a few plant hoops in front for support, which was enough. Grew to a maximum of 1.5m over 3 years with annual pruning by around a third. I moved her this year as that spot was too hot, currently pruned down to about 40cm, potted up and awaiting a better location, more sheltered from my fierce afternoon sun. Growth rates do vary according to climate, soil, aspect etc., Harder annual pruning, say by half, will help control height and strengthen the canes, as will cutting right out any weak, spindly canes.