Forum home Garden design

Moving a tree

Hello everyone,

I am new to gardening and this forum and am hoping someone could give me some advice.

We have just moved into a house with a young prunus royal burgundy tree in the garden. It is planted close to the fence and we are worried it will cause problems later. Do you think it would be ok to move it now? 

We have a NE facing garden that gets sun over most of the lawn. We are also wanting to get another tree to attract little garden birds and wondered if anyone could recommend one? We used to live in a rental with a beautiful birch but perhaps those are too large for this size garden?

many thanks in advance for any advice.

lizzie 

• CeresCeres Posts: 2,149
    Hello and welcome.
    Now is the time to move the tree. This advice is for more mature specimens but follow the rules and your tree will have a better chance of establishing quickly in it's new position. https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?PID=293
    Crab apples are good at attracting birds, at least the one I have gets stripped of fruits by winter's end.

• Thank you Ceres! I will check out the crab apple tree. And thank you for the advice regarding moving the tree. 
  • You can also move your tree in autumn if you need to, as it is likely to need less watering in afterwards. But in fact, I can't see how it would be likely to damage the fence where it is. If there are low branches actually touching the fence, you can prune those out quite easily.