Forum home Plants

Blind galanthus

paddympaddym Posts: 10
Lockdown Newbie here. Planted galanthus and irises bulbs in identical pots last autumn - six per pot. The irises have been gorgeous but only 3 of the galanthus produced stems and flowers. Wondered why... I observed the recommended depth and spacing. Thanks in advance 

• It can't be anything you did - the proto-flower is already there in the bulb ready to go by the autumn, and would emerge whatever spacing and depth (within reason!). So those bulbs must never have had a flower - maybe next year, if you intend keeping them - keep the foliage fed and watered until it dies down to put energy into the bulb next year's leaves and flowers. I wonder what proportion of snowdrop (Galanthus) typically flower - 6 doesn't seem very many for something with a tiny flower.
  • Silver surferSilver surfer Posts: 4,709
    edited March 2021
  • Mary370Mary370 Posts: 2,003
    @Silver surfer that's good to know, I planted some in Autumn, no flowers........at least in can look forward to them flowering next year
  • Silver surferSilver surfer Posts: 4,709
    Please check out Eurobulbs.
    We have used them several times...always been delighted.
    Buy now, get snowdrops delivered in the green.
    Growing, with leaves on . 
    Plant as soon as they are delivered...weather permitting.
    Galanthus nivalis.....100 is less than £10.00.  1,000 ..£85.00

https://eurobulbs.co.uk/shop/all-bulbs-and-plants/featured/single-snowdrops-galanthus/
    Perthshire. SCOTLAND .